MiEnergy Cooperative announces Youth Tour winners

MiEnergy Cooperative announces Youth Tour winners

Cresco, IA | Rushford, MN (8 a.m. April 10, 2019)— Ethan Rosonke, a junior at New Hampton High School, and Sophie Pieper, a junior at Lanesboro High School, each won an educational-filled week of adventure in Washington D.C. as MiEnergy Cooperative’s Youth Tour Contest winners. Both will be among a group of 1,600 students sponsored by electric cooperatives from across the country to take part in the Rural Electric Youth Tour June 14-20.

This year marks the 55th anniversary of electric cooperatives sending high school students to Washington. The Youth Tour was inspired in 1957 by Lyndon Johnson, then a U.S. senator from Texas, when he called on electric cooperatives to send young people to Washington, “to see what the flag stands for and represents.”

The students will meet with state and federal legislators to get an up-close look at how our government works, along with experiencing the monuments, museums and history of our nation’s capital.

Iowa contestants

MiEnergy’s Iowa Youth Tour winner, Rosonke, is the son of Allen and Nikki Rosonke, of New Hampton, Iowa. Rachelle Smith, of Fort Atkinson, was selected as an alternate. Emma Rosonke, of New Hampton, and Jacob Carnesi, of Decorah, were also finalists.

Minnesota contestants

MiEnergy’s Minnesota Youth Tour winner, Pieper, is the daughter of Jon and Sarah Pieper, of Lanesboro, Minn. Sidney Miller, of Hokah, was selected as an alternate. Bethany Schneekloth, of Mabel, Jeremy O’Connor, of Preston, Annabelle Pronschinske, of Rollingstone, and Alexandra Van Atta, of La Crescent, were also finalists.

Page Features: